John Keenan Memorial Scholarship Program

CAJPA recognizes this scholarship program in the memory of John Keenan. Mr. Keenan was a pioneer in the JPA industry and believed that JPAs assisted public agencies to retain their valuable dollars for their risk management success rather than an insurance company reaping those rewards. He was a long-term supporter of CAJPA.

Scholarship Criteria & Guidelines

  • Two (2) CAJPA conference registrations are available on an annual basis with additional funding to cover travel expenses as determined upon selection.
  • Candidate must be committed to serving the public through employment at an agency/firm as outlined above.
  • Individual has some type of hardship situation or whose organizations may have suspended travel or continuing education reimbursement due to fiscal contracts of the employer. Or;
  • Individual may not be at a position/level within the agency/company that would send him/her to the conference but supports the individual’s continuing education.
  • Scholarship applications are accepted year-round. Scholarship applications are reviewed by CAJPA staff and ratified by the Board of Directors at their regularly scheduled meetings throughout the year. Upon approval, candidates will be notified of scholarship awards by CAJPA association staff.

CAJPA’s Scholarship Program strictly prohibits discrimination against any applicant because of the individual’s race, color, religion, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, age, disability, veteran’s status, or any other characteristic protected by law.

Application Requirements

  • Candidates must submit a Keenan Scholarship Application.
  • Candidates must include a letter of recommendation.
  • A 300-word essay about their current and future career goals.
  • Download the Keenan scholarship application and guidelines

    Joseph Farrell Memorial Scholarship Program

    Applications accepted year-round.

    This scholarship program is dedicated to Joseph Farrell (1929-1991), one of the founding members of CAJPA, in recognition of his leadership in risk pooling and JPA professional development.

    The CAJPA scholarship program is a year-round program and scholarship applications are reviewed by the Scholarship Committee at least once a quarter. Recommendations from the Committee are approved by the CAJPA Board of Directors. Scholarships of up to $1,000 are based on the applicant’s qualifications for the scholarship and financial need. Download the Joseph Farrell Memorial scholarship application and guidelines.

    2013 Scholarship Recipient

    Lam Le, CJPIA

    2012 Scholarship Recipient

    Sherri Adams, Tehama County
    Launa Stout, Elk Grove Unified School District

    2011 Scholarship Recipient

    Suzanne Dillman, North Bay Schools Insurance Authority (NBSIA)

    2010 Scholarship Recipients

    Sherri Adams, Del Norte County
    Sherry Kaib, Alvord Unified School District/ReLIEF
    Dan Lowe, Schools Insurance Authority
    Aida Santillana, Santa Clara County Schools Insurance Group

    2009 Scholarship Recipients

    Jessica Blushi, CSAC Excess Insurance Authority
    Heather Fregeau, CSAC Excess Insurance Authority
    Kami Linan, North Bay Schools Insurance Authority
    Barbara Sasser, CSU Long Beach

    2008 Scholarship Recipients

    Martha Espinoza, Alliance of Schools for Cooperative Insurance Programs (ASCIP)
    Aida Santillana, Contra Costa County Schools Insurance Group (CCCSIG)

    2007 Scholarship Recipients

    Lynn Cavalcanti Gregory B. Bragg & Associates
    Angela Jacobsen, Administrative Assistant, Central Region School Insurance Group
    James Vang, Administrative Clerk, Schools Insurance Authority (SIA)

    2006 Scholarship Recipients

    Lynn Cavalcanti Gregory B. Bragg & Associates
    Aimee Lasserree, CSAC-EIA